Recent Match Report – Australia vs India 2nd T20I 2022


Toss India chose to bowl vs Australia

India gained a significant advantage when they won the toss and opted to chase in a severely reduced T20 international in Nagpur. Adding to that feeling is the return of Jasprit Bumrah, who will play his first game of cricket in over two months.
Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has suffered a slight dip in form recently, became a casualty of the game being cut to just eight overs a side. Rain-shortened matches often skew in favour of the side with more batting and so India bolstered theirs with Rishabh Pant.
Australia went the other way, leaving aside a batter Josh Inglis for a bowler Sean Abbott. They lead the three-match series 1-0.
Nathan Ellis, who showed great composure in high-scoring conditions earlier this week, slipped out of the team as well, replaced by Daniel Sams, who offers a left-arm angle of attack.

India’s Umesh Yadav, who broke a three-year drought between T20Is on Tuesday, has also been pushed to the bench.

Overnight rain in Nagpur had left the outfield water-logged and although the weather had been completely clear on the day of the match, play had to be postponed by two and a half hours while the groundstaff tried to get things ready.

The major concern for umpires Nitin Menon and KN Ananthapadmanabhan was an area at wide mid-on, which gave way underfoot and created the potential for injury. Even when the officials finally made the decision to let the play go ahead at 8.50pm IST, they did so saying “although the conditions are not perfect, they are safe to play.”

According to the game’s revised stipulations, no bowler can bowl more than two overs, which will also be the length of the powerplay in each innings.

Australia: 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 Cameron Green, 3 Steven Smith, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Tim David, 6 Matthew Wade (wk), 7 Pat Cummins, 8 Daniel Sams, 9 Sean Abbott, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 KL Rahul, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Rishabh Pant (wk), 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Dinesh Karthik, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Harshal Patel, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.